Cobham Rugby

Cobham RFC – Girls Section Awards Ceremony

Sunday 14th May 2017 saw a clubhouse packed with players, coaches and parents assembled  for the end of season  girls rugby awards ceremony.

Chairman of Girls Rugby Vicky Alexander said how very proud both she and all the managers and coaches were  of all the girls. They had enjoyed a wonderfully successful season.

Vicky welcomed President Lionel Frewin, Chairman, Steve Heard and Emma Uren who is a past Surrey U18 squad member and now plays for both Saracens and England U20’s. Emma put in a huge effort to achieving the ambitions which she is now fulfilling.


IMG_3195 EDITED.jpg


Chairman Steve Heard briefly addressed the meeting and thanked Vicky Alexander for all her efforts this season and President Lionel Frewin was presented with a framed photograph of the whole girls section which will be hung in the clubhouse. Lionel thanked both Vicky, the players and all the parents for their incredible support and dedication to the club


IMG_3136 EDITED.jpg


Vicky gave a brief report highlighting the introduction of junior girls training with U13’s and that  numbers have increased every month through the season.  U15’s were this season clustered with Camberley and the excellent coaching of Matt Lunn and Iain Janssens  saw them get through to the National semi- finals in Andover and although we didn’t succeed on our first attempt, they were undefeated both in the area cup and all friendly matches played throughout the season. 

Our under 18’s also clustered, this time with our arch-rivals Chobham and were undefeated through to the area finals. They have built a reputation for being a dominant and well-drilled side on the pitch thanks to all the hard work the girls put in. Thanks were due to Claire Deverauex (U18’s Manager), Jo Fisher  (Chobham U18’s Manager), and Chris Dodd (Chobham U18’s Coach) and also to Alison Longdon who deals with all safeguarding matters and Alan Thurlow for his wonderful photography.

We had a very strong representation in the U18’s County side with Amy Moher, Rebecca Rayner, Katie Davies, Georgia Newman, Florence Thurlow Daisy Riley, Brooke Whitman and Claudia Devereaux all being selected.

Georgia Newman and Katie Davies were also selected for the England Divisional squad.

Huge congratulations are also due to Katie Davies who has been selected to trial for England U20’s which is a huge accolade to both Katie and Cobham RFC.

Our U15’s were equally successful with Vicky Baxter, Natalie Bailey, Gaby Skov, Ella Nigrelli, Scarlet Yeadon, Megan Price, Isabella Janssens, Becky Dugmore, Savannah, Holm, Caitlin Longden and Imogen Lunn all trialing for County selection.

The following girls were also selected for the England Divisional squad :-

Vicky Baxter, Ella Nigrelli and Caitlin Longden.

With the generous support of the Braemar Club, blazers were presented to Daisy Riley and Florence Thurlow, our young Rugby Ambassadors as well as to Matt Lunn and Iain Janssens our coaches.


The following players also received awards:-

U18's player of the season                Katie Davies

U15's player of the season                Natalie Bailey

U13's Player of the season                Rose Massey


U18's most improved forward            Francesca Fornasiero

U18's most improved back                Sammy Doherty

U15's most improved forward            Hannah Cooper

U15's most improved back                Maddie Yeadon

Most improved junior                       Tulisa Washington

Coaches awards were presented to:-

U18 Florence Thurlow

U15 Sophie Roberts

Junior Ellie Redfern

Players Player of the year were:-

U18 Daisy Riley

U15 Vicky Baxter

Subsequent to the awards ceremony, a club blazer was presented to Nathan Spratt as club ambassador in recognition of his work with coaching and promoting the girls section.

There was a ‘best rugby’ themed cake stall which was judged by club Chairman Steve Heard and a successful raffle was held which raised funds for the girls section.

All in all a fitting end to a very successful season for our girls and we look forward to further success next season.