Cobham Rugby

U17 Home

Season 2016-17


Welcome to the Cobham U17s group. We are a fantastic age group with almost 40 players registered, with a strong playing, social and respect ethic and we welcome any new players to our age group!

Our independent Head coach is Matt Thomas (i.e he is not a Dad from our age group) Matt is Head of Rugby at Tonbridge school and a Development coach at Harlequins Academy. 

In addition, our Age group coaching is lead by Billy Davison - ex Harlequins, Saracens and England A player, current Harlequins development coach, RFU level 3 coach and qualified referee. Billy was the Director of Rugby at Cobham for 9 years, Head coach for Cobham 1st XV and 1st XV captain for 2 years. He is currently Director of Sport at Shrewsbury House school. 

So your boys are in good hands!

We are also privileged to have a fantastic group of additional coaches to ensure all aspects of the game are covered. These coaches are: Hywel Evans, Lachlan Deuchar, Mike Cox, Tim Wilkinson, Steve Rickerd and Matt MacQuire.

If you are interested in joining, please contact our membership Secretary

Nicky Eggar – Membership Secretary. 

Our Managers are: David Whalley and Chris Paul 


NOTE: School rugby commitments and year studies are often a juggle  - please note that our two head coaches work within the school environment and are fully aware and sympathetic to the pressures our boys face this season. As much as possible we try to ensure that following Saturday school matches, the training at Cobham on Sundays is carefully considered. Wherever possible, league matches are arranged post January when the school rugby season is complete.  


Click here to see a short video from our 1st training session of the year:


Social events: 


Ladies lunch - details to follow

End of Season Dinner - for the player sand parents 

Click here to see: What is on at the club 


If you have any questions regarding membership for the 2016-17 season, or you would like to add your name to a waiting list please contact:  Nicky Eggar - Membership Secretary.




e: Dave Whalley

m:  07941 400996

e: Chris Paul


Fixtures Secretary 

Chris Cullen



Matt Thomas


Billy Davison

07867 808 214


Hywel Evans


Lachlan Deuchar


Mike Cox


Tim Wilkinson


Steve Rickerd