top of page

Cobham RFC celebrate the Club's Volunteers

Last Friday (9 September) we held our annual Volunteers event; an evening where we celebrated and recognised the enormous contribution all of our volunteers make to the Club and its members. Without this time, energy, dedication and knowledge we would not be the rugby club we are today!

The awards were sponsored by the Braemars, launched the Gordon Levati Award.

The awards were presented by Lionel Frewin, past President officiating on behalf of current President, Ian Thomas. The awards went to:

  • Callum Stott - Volunteer of the Year

  • Dan Cowan - Special Recognition Award

  • Alex Gaze - Coaching Volunteer of the Year

  • Tom Schofield - Seniors Volunteer

  • Iain Brown - Youth Volunteer Award

  • Sarah Simpson - Girls Volunteer Award

  • Emma Ashton - Minis Volunteer

With over 50 volunteers attending the event, the Members Bar was soon full with laughter, chatter and sharing of stories! We also heard from Matt Lunn, our Youth Chairman, and Simeon Barnes, Coaching Co-ordinator about what volunteering means to them and the positive impact all of this has on the members.

The Club is always looking for more volunteers; the roles are varied - not everything happens on the pitch and sometimes it’s connections and ideas we need, not oodles of time! If you are interested in becoming a volunteer or finding out a bit more, Haley Dwyer, Volunteer Co-Ordinator, would love to hear from you:

Tel: 01428 751 741

Thank you to all of our volunteers - we can’t give you all an award, but we wish we could!

‘Volunteers do not necessarily have the time, they just have the heart!’

158 views0 comments


bottom of page